The Autel MaxiSys MS906 Pro is an 8-inch Android tablet that talks to the car through a wireless Bluetooth interface. It reads and clears codes in every system, runs active tests, codes control modules, lists 36 or more service resets, and adds CAN FD and DoIP for newer cars. Amazon says plainly that it cannot do ADAS calibration. Autel’s own page says it can, with an additional purchase.
The short version: The MS906 Pro is a shop tablet for a technician who wants bidirectional tests and coding on many brands without paying for module programming. Amazon and Autel agree on the screen, the Bluetooth interface, active tests, coding, the reset list, CAN FD and one free update year. They disagree on ADAS. TPMS service belongs to a different version, the MS906 Pro-TS, according to Autel’s manual.
Affiliate Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Scan Choice Guide is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.
What the MS906 Pro Does, Group by Group
Amazon, Autel’s product page and Autel’s user manual name these functions.
- All-system diagnosis. Amazon says it can perform “OE level comprehensive diagnostics on 160+ car brands of U.S., Asian, and European” and says it “supports OBD1 & OBD2 compliant vehicles, covering 16,000+ without IP Restriction.” Autel’s page says it diagnoses vehicles from 1996 on.
- Reading and clearing. The manual describes reading codes with freeze frame data, clearing codes, and an erase function that also clears related emission data.
- Live data. The manual says the tool retrieves and displays live data and parameters from the ECU, with options to freeze, record and print.
- Active tests. Amazon says the tablet can actuate solenoids and actuators for active testing. The manual says active tests provide specific subsystem and component tests, and that the options depend on the manufacturer and model.
- Coding and adaptation. The manual describes special functions as “component adaptation or variant coding functions for custom configurations.” Amazon’s title says “ECU C0ding” and Autel’s specification table names BMW F and E chassis, Porsche and Ford offline.
- Service resets. Amazon says “36+” resets including oil reset, EPB, BMS and ABS brake bleeding. The manual’s service list names oil reset, TPMS programming, EPB, ABS and SRS services, SAS calibration and DPF regeneration.
- Newer protocols. Amazon says the tool “supports the latest CAN FD (for GM 2019+) and DoIP protocols.” The manual’s protocol list includes CAN FD and ISO 13400, which is the standard behind DoIP.
- Replacement modules. Amazon says it enables you to match, code and relearn blank modules to the on-board systems after replacement.
- Fast first scan. Amazon says Auto Scan 2.0 finishes in seconds and gives target times for GM, BMW, Ford, VAG and Chrysler.
- VAG guided functions. Amazon lists a VAG Guided Function, and Autel’s table lists a guide function for VW and Audi.
- Maintenance aids. Amazon names a BT506 battery tester, MV108S and MV105S inspection cameras and an oscilloscope among the add-on tools.
The picture below shows the coding and adaptations menu on a BMW X3.

A BMW X3 in the Bay: Seven Jobs in the Order a Shop Meets Them
The three pictures on this page are taken on one BMW X3. A shop does not meet functions in a list. It meets jobs. These seven use only functions that Amazon, Autel’s page or Autel’s manual name, and the screens on your car will differ.
Job 1: The customer says the light is on and the car feels odd. Connect the interface, run Auto Scan, and let the tablet read every module. Amazon says the newest Auto Scan 2.0 takes seconds, and lists Scan VIN, pre and post scan and component matching as steps. The pre scan is the one that saves arguments, because it records what the car looked like when it arrived. The post scan, after the repair, proves what you changed.
Job 2: A steering angle sensor after an alignment. The manual says the SAS calibration permanently stores the current steering wheel position as the straight-ahead position, and it lists when calibration is required: after a steering wheel replacement, a sensor replacement, work on the connector hub, repair of the steering linkage or gear, a wheel alignment or track adjustment, and accident repairs. The manual’s condition is clear: the front wheels and the steering wheel must be set exactly straight ahead before you start. On success, it says the sensor’s fault memory is cleared automatically.
Job 3: Rear brake pads on a car with an electric parking brake. The manual says the EPB service covers deactivating and activating the brake control system, assisting with brake fluid control, opening and closing the brake pads, and setting the brakes after disc or pad replacement. It also tells you to work only on level ground with the vehicle stationary, and to reactivate the EPB control system afterwards. The third picture on this page shows an EPB service screen.
Job 4: A new battery. Amazon names BMS in its reset list. The manual describes the battery management function as evaluating the charge state, monitoring the closed circuit current, registering the battery replacement, activating the rest state of the vehicle and charging through the diagnostic socket. It adds that not every vehicle supports it. It also warns that if the old battery was lead acid and the new one is AGM, or the capacity differs, the car may need to be programmed with the new battery type in addition to the reset.
Job 5: A caliper job on an ABS car. The manual says the ABS and SRS service functions allow bidirectional tests such as automated bleeding and a pump motor test. Amazon’s reset list names ABS brake bleeding. The sequence is the same as on other tools in our reviews: repair, bleed with the tool commanding the pump, then verify.
Job 6: A module swap. Amazon says the tablet enables you to match, code and relearn the blank modules to the on-board systems after replacement. Read the sentence carefully. It describes the step after a module has been replaced: the new module is matched to the car and coded. It does not use the words module programming, and Autel’s page does not list module programming either, so we do not claim it.
Job 7: A 2020 GM truck with a communication fault. Amazon says the tool supports the latest CAN FD for GM 2019 and newer, and DoIP. Without CAN FD, a tool may not talk fully to the newest networks, and the section below explains why in plain words.
The picture below shows an SAS calibration with a bidirectional test on the same BMW X3.

Why CAN FD and DoIP Matter for a Tablet at This Level
A modern car is a network of computers. The older network, called CAN, sends small frames of data. CAN FD is the faster version, and DoIP, short for diagnostics over internet protocol, is the way some newer cars carry diagnostic talk over an Ethernet cable instead of the older wires. Autel’s manual lists both in its protocol table, with CAN FD by name and ISO 13400 for the Ethernet-based standard.
For a buyer, the practical point is small. If your shop sees mostly cars from before 2018, you will rarely need either one. If your shop sees many 2019 and newer cars, especially GM as Amazon’s sentence says, the tool that lists CAN FD and DoIP saves you from the day a new car arrives and the older interface cannot talk to it. Use the Scanner Finder with the exact year of your most common cars, because Amazon’s sentence names one brand and one model year.
What Amazon Says vs. What Autel Confirms
We compared the Amazon listing with Autel’s product page and its user manual. The table shows where they agree and where they do not.
| Claim | Amazon listing | Autel page and manual | Our reading |
|---|---|---|---|
| Name | “Autel MaxiSYS MS906 PRO Scanner” | MaxiSys MS906 Pro | Same tool |
| Screen | 8 inch, 1920 x 1200 | 8 inch, 1920 x 1200 | Agree |
| System | Android 10.0, octa-core, 4 GB and 128 GB | Android 10.0, Qualcomm 660, 4 GB and 128 GB | Agree |
| Battery | A figure that reads as a typing error | 11,600 mAh | Autel only |
| Interface | “enhanced BT interface VCI200” | MaxiVCI V200, Bluetooth or USB | Same device, different spelling |
| ECU coding | “ECU C0ding” | BMW F/E chassis, Porsche, Ford offline | Agree |
| Bidirectional control | “3K+ Bidirectional” | Active tests, coding and adaptations | Amazon states a count, Autel does not |
| Service resets | “36+” | 36 | Agree |
| CAN FD and DoIP | Both | CAN FD and ISO 13400 in the protocol list | Agree |
| ADAS | “CANNOT support ADAS” | “Support”, with calibration by additional purchase | Disagree |
| TPMS | Not named | “No” in the table, TPMS application for the MS906 Pro-TS only | Not part of this model |
| Updates | 12 months free | Not stated on the page we read | Amazon only |
| Warranty | 1 year brand warranty, 30 day refund and replacement | 12 months limited warranty | Agree on the year |
| Module programming | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
The ADAS point matters most. Amazon says in capital letters that this model cannot support ADAS. Autel’s page lists ADAS as supported and says calibration needs an additional purchase, and the manual has a full ADAS chapter that lists makes such as Mercedes, BMW, Audi, Volkswagen, Porsche, Toyota, Honda and Kia and systems such as adaptive cruise control, lane departure warning and blind spot detection. We cannot make the two statements agree. Our feature table at the bottom of this page follows Amazon, because Amazon is where you buy. If ADAS calibration is a core part of your work, do not buy this tablet on the strength of Autel’s page alone. Ask Autel in writing which targets and software you would need and what they cost, and compare that answer with Amazon’s sentence.
The TPMS point matters. Autel’s store page for this model could not be loaded when we checked, and Autel’s specification table says No for TPMS. The manual closes the question with a note under its TPMS chapter: “The TPMS service operation is available for MS906 Pro-TS only.” That is a different version of the product. If tire pressure sensor work is part of your week, the Autel MaxiCheck MX900-TS is a better fit, and our review of it explains the details.
The count point matters. Amazon’s title says “3K+ Bidirectional”. Autel’s page describes active tests without a number. A count in a title is a marketing figure, and we do not repeat it as a fact. What you can rely on is the type of function that both sources name.
The update and warranty point matters. Amazon says 12 months of free updates, a 1 year brand warranty, lifetime professional tech support and a 30 day full refund and replacement policy. The manual says the warranty is a 12 month limited warranty from the date of delivery, with repair or replacement of defective parts and labor, and that the registered account shows the expiry date and the update history. Neither source gives the cost of updates after the free period.
A third source. A source that has nothing to sell explains why the ADAS question is worth your care. The United States federal rule 49 CFR 571.127, “Standard No. 127; Automatic emergency braking systems for light vehicles”, says its purpose is “to reduce the number of deaths and injuries that result from crashes in which drivers do not apply the brakes or fail to apply sufficient braking power to avoid or mitigate a crash.” It applies to passenger cars and to multipurpose passenger vehicles, trucks and buses with a gross vehicle weight rating of 4,536 kilograms (10,000 pounds) or less, and it requires compliance for vehicles manufactured on or after September 1, 2029. It defines automatic emergency braking as a system that detects an imminent collision and “automatically controls the vehicle’s service brakes”. Systems like this depend on cameras and radar, and those are the sensors that need calibration after a windshield or bumper job. The rule does not mention scan tools. It shows that the sensors an ADAS tool is meant to calibrate are becoming standard equipment, so a shop that buys a tool without ADAS should know what it will say to the customer who asks.
How we handle these differences. The feature table at the bottom of this page, the Scanner Finder and our comparisons follow the Amazon listing, because Amazon is where you buy. We name the points above so you can see where Autel says something different. If one of them matters to you, read this section before you decide.
Reading the Hardware: What You Hold
The numbers below come from the manual’s specification page, and Amazon agrees on the main ones.
- Display. An 8-inch screen at 1920 x 1200.
- Memory. 4 GB of memory and 128 GB of storage, with Wi-Fi on 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz and cameras at 16 and 5 megapixels per Amazon.
- Battery. The manual lists an 11,600 mAh lithium-polymer battery, charged through a 12-volt power supply.
- Power. Input of 12 V (9 to 35 V) and a consumption of 5 W.
- Temperature. Operation from 0 to 50 degrees Celsius and storage from minus 10 to 60.
- Size and weight. About 260 by 170 by 30 millimeters, and about 0.92 kilograms for the MS906 Pro, against about 0.962 for the TPMS version.
- Housing. A plastic body with a protective rubber boot.
The wireless interface is a separate small device that plugs into the car’s diagnostic port. The manual says the working range for Bluetooth is about 50 meters (164 feet), which means you can walk around the workshop while the tool talks to the car, and it says you can pair the tablet to several interfaces so that a second car does not need unplugging and replugging. It also says Bluetooth pairing is the recommended first choice, with USB as the second.
What this means in plain terms: the tablet lives on the bench or the fender, and the interface lives in the car. A shop with two bays can leave one interface in each.
The Autel Ladder: Where This Tablet Sits
Autel sells several tablets with overlapping names. Our reviews cover four that matter here, and the main differences are easy to say.
| MK900-BT | MS906 Pro | MaxiSys Ultra | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bidirectional control | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| ECU coding | Not named | Yes | Yes |
| Module programming | Not listed | Not listed | Listed |
| TPMS service | See its review | MS906 Pro-TS only | See its review |
Read it as a ladder of intent. If you only need diagnostics and active tests, our Autel MaxiCOM MK900-BT review explains a simpler tool. If tire pressure sensors are part of the job, the Autel MaxiCheck MX900-TS review covers it. If you want to program a brand new module from scratch, see the Autel MaxiSys Ultra review. The MS906 Pro is the middle step: broad coding and tests, no module programming, and no TPMS in this version.
Three Types of Buyer
The independent technician who works on mixed brands. She services BMW, Ford, VW and GM in the same week. Autel names coding for BMW F and E chassis, Porsche and Ford offline, a guided function for VW and Audi, and CAN FD for GM. For her, one tablet with a wide set is easier than three brand tools.
The mobile mechanic. He drives to the customer. An 8-inch tablet with a long battery and a Bluetooth interface works from the driveway, and a 50 meter range means the tablet can stay on the fender. He needs to check the year of every car in the Scanner Finder, because brand claims are broad and coverage is not.
The shop that does windshield and bumper work. This buyer should pause. Amazon says the tool cannot support ADAS. Autel’s page says it can with additional purchases. Until Autel answers in writing, plan on the conservative reading.
Updates, Registration and Support
The manual explains the process. You register the tablet on Autel’s site with the serial number and password found under Settings and About. In the update application you tap Get for one item or Update All for everything, you can pause and resume, and the new version replaces the old one. The support application keeps your account, device information including the registration and expiry date, the update history and a service history of repairs.
Amazon states the terms in one sentence: 12 months of free updates, a 1 year brand warranty, lifetime professional tech support and a 30 day full refund and replacement policy. We do not know the cost of updates in year two, and neither source says. A shop should treat the first year as free and plan to ask Autel before month twelve.
What Autel’s Manual Adds That Amazon Does Not Say
Several useful points appear only in the manual.
- Immobilizer keys. The manual describes an IMMO keys function that can disable a lost key and program replacement key fobs. Amazon does not name it, so our feature table does not show it, and you should confirm it for your cars.
- Battery test. The manual describes the MaxiBAS BT506 tester, which uses a method called adaptive conductance to look at cold cranking ability and reserve capacity. Amazon names the BT506 among its maintenance aids. Neither source we read says it is in the box, so confirm that before you count on it.
- ADAS chapter. The manual lists the makes and systems mentioned above and says the tool provides step by step instructions and demos.
- Oscilloscope. The manual has a chapter on the MaxiScope, an add-on with its own update and warranty.
- Support for a second language. Amazon says the interface can be changed to languages such as Spanish and French.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
1. Buying it for TPMS. The manual says the TPMS application is for the MS906 Pro-TS only. Check the exact model name on the listing.
2. Buying it for ADAS on the strength of Autel’s page. Amazon says the opposite. Get written answers first.
3. Treating “3K+ bidirectional” as a promise. It is a count in a title. The functions that exist depend on your car.
4. Expecting module programming. Amazon describes matching and coding a blank module after replacement. It does not describe programming.
5. Forgetting the free year ends. Plan the cost of year two before it starts.
6. Skipping the pre scan. The pre scan and post scan steps are cheap, and they protect you in a dispute.
Three Simple Plans
Plan A: A mixed shop week
- Run Auto Scan with the pre scan on every arriving car.
- Run the active tests the repair needs.
- Run the post scan and keep the report.
Plan B: A coding job on a BMW
- Confirm the chassis against Autel’s list of BMW F and E chassis.
- Open the coding and adaptations menu, as in the first picture above.
- Change one option at a time and write down the original values.
Plan C: A year-end review
- In month ten, list the jobs the tablet did.
- Ask Autel in writing for the update cost.
- Decide on renewal before the free year ends.
What You Should Still Verify Before You Buy
- The exact model name. MS906 Pro, MS906 Pro-TS and MS906 Max are different products.
- Your brands and years. Autel names BMW F and E, Porsche and Ford offline for coding. Anything else needs a check in the Scanner Finder.
- ADAS. Get Autel’s written answer.
- Update cost after year one. Neither source gives it.
- What is in the box. Confirm the interface, cables and any tester.
Who This Scanner Actually Fits
The MS906 Pro fits a technician or small shop that wants broad bidirectional tests, coding on named platforms, CAN FD and a tablet with its own screen. It is a weaker fit for a shop that needs ADAS calibration, TPMS service or module programming.
How It Compares With Other Tools in Our Reviews
Our Autel MK808Z review covers a tablet with a more modest scope, and our XTOOL D8W review covers a tool that lists module installation for several brands.
Important Limitations of the Autel MaxiSys MS906 Pro
- ADAS is disputed. Amazon says no, Autel says yes with an additional purchase.
- TPMS service is not part of this model. The manual says it belongs to the MS906 Pro-TS.
- No module programming is listed. Amazon describes matching and coding a replaced module.
- Update cost after year one is not stated.
- Bidirectional counts are marketing figures.
- Coding is named for specific platforms. BMW F and E, Porsche and Ford offline.
Who Should Choose It, and What to Consider Instead
Choose the MS906 Pro if you want bidirectional tests, coding on the platforms Autel names and CAN FD in a tablet with its own screen, and you can live without ADAS, TPMS and module programming.
Consider the Autel MaxiCheck MX900-TS instead if TPMS service is part of your week. Consider the Autel MaxiCOM MK900-BT instead if you want diagnostics and bidirectional tests without coding. Consider the Autel MaxiSys Ultra instead if module programming is a recurring job.
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Form | 8-inch Android tablet, 1920 x 1200 |
| System | Android 10.0, octa-core, 4 GB memory, 128 GB storage |
| Battery | 11,600 mAh |
| Interface | MaxiVCI V200, Bluetooth or USB |
| Bidirectional control | Yes |
| ECU coding | Yes, BMW F/E, Porsche, Ford offline named by Autel |
| Service resets | 36 or more |
| CAN FD and DoIP | Yes per Amazon |
| ADAS | No per Amazon; Autel says yes with an additional purchase |
| TPMS | MS906 Pro-TS only |
| Module programming | Not listed |
| Updates | 12 months free, cost afterwards not listed |
| Warranty | 1 year |
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
| Bidirectional tests and ECU coding on named platforms | Amazon says it cannot support ADAS |
| CAN FD and DoIP for newer cars | TPMS service is for the Pro-TS version |
| 36 or more service resets | No module programming listed |
| Large 11,600 mAh battery and a 1920 x 1200 screen | Update cost after year one is not stated |
The picture below shows the EPB service screen on the same BMW X3.

Methodology: How SCG Evaluates OBD2 Scanners.
Our Autel vs LAUNCH comparison sets this tablet against the LAUNCH PRO3S+ Elite and PRO5 at the professional level.
Our Verdict on the Autel MaxiSys MS906 Pro
The MS906 Pro is a strong middle step in Autel’s line: a tablet with a good screen, a long battery, a Bluetooth interface, bidirectional tests, coding on named platforms and CAN FD with DoIP. Amazon and Autel agree on nearly all of that. They disagree on ADAS, and the TPMS service belongs to another version of the product. If your work is diagnosis, tests, resets and coding, it fits well. If your work depends on ADAS calibration, get Autel’s written answer first.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the MS906 Pro support ECU coding?
Yes. Amazon’s title says ECU coding, and Autel’s table names BMW F and E chassis, Porsche and Ford offline.
Does it support bidirectional control?
Yes. Amazon says it can actuate solenoids and actuators, and the manual describes active tests by subsystem.
Does it support ADAS calibration?
Amazon says it cannot. Autel’s page says it can with an additional purchase. Our table follows Amazon. Ask Autel in writing before you buy for ADAS work.
Does it support TPMS?
The manual says the TPMS service is available for the MS906 Pro-TS only. Autel’s table says No for this model.
Does it support module programming?
Not listed. Amazon says it matches, codes and relearns blank modules after replacement, which is a different statement.
Does it support CAN FD and DoIP?
Yes. Amazon says both, and the manual’s protocol list names CAN FD and ISO 13400.
How long are updates free?
Twelve months per Amazon. Neither source gives the cost afterwards.
What is the warranty?
Amazon says a 1 year brand warranty and a 30 day refund and replacement policy. The manual describes a 12 month limited warranty.
Does it need a cable to the car?
No. The interface connects by Bluetooth with a range of about 50 meters, and it can also use USB.
Does the battery tester come in the box?
Neither source we read says so. The manual describes the BT506 as the tester the battery application works with, and Amazon names it as a maintenance aid.
Can it key a car?
The manual describes an IMMO keys function. Amazon does not name it, so check it for your cars.
Is the MS906 Pro the same as the MS906 Max?
Amazon’s title says “3K+ Bidirectional as MS906 MAX”. Those are separate products from Autel, so check the listing name before you buy.
Is it compatible with my specific vehicle?
Use the Scanner Finder to check your year, make and model.
Trusted Sources
- Autel MaxiSys MS906 Pro product page: hardware, software list, specification table
- Autel MaxiSys user manual: specifications, protocols, service functions, BMS, SAS, ADAS, battery test, update, warranty
- Verified Amazon listing: current title and listing text
- 49 CFR 571.127, Automatic emergency braking systems for light vehicles: purpose, scope and definition of the rule behind the ADAS sensors
